APC Wins State Assembly Election In Edo


Jethro Ibileke/Benin

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in the Orhionmwon Constituency II for Edo State House of Assembly rescheduled election, Roland Asoro, has been declared winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in the State.

The rescheduled election was conducted last Saturday in twelve units of four wards in Ukpato, Ugu, Evbuesi and Ugboko wards.

INEC’s Returning Officer for the rescheduled election, Mr Olowu Owin, who announced the result, declared the APC candidate winner, having polled total of 11, 486 votes against Friday Ogierhiakhi of PDP’s 8, 640 votes.

The Returning Officer also announced that a total of 545 invalid votes were recorded.

Ogieriakhi, candidate of the PDP in the rescheduled election, had less than 24 hours to the election, announced his withdrawal, alleging compromise by INEC in the state.

With this declaration, the victorious Roland Asoro will now join 20 other APC elected legislators to represent the Constituency when the new Assembly is inaugurated in June.

It would be recalled that the PDP secured only three seats from Edo Central, the main stronghold of Chairman, PDP Board of Trustees, Chief Tony Anenih.

Culled from here


About Author

Comments are closed.