Bayelsa expels seven pupils as armed teens invade school


Simon Utebor

Four armed teenagers suspected to be members of a cult group, on Friday attacked the Community Secondary School, Biogbolo, in the Yenagoa Local Government Area of Bayelsa State.

The teenagers, who brandished assault rifles, caused pandemonium in the school as pupils and staff of the school fled in different directions.

The invasion of the school came a few hours after the state government, through the Ministry of Education, expelled seven pupils over their alleged membership of a cult group.

The government decried the existence of cult activities in some schools in the state.

It was gathered on Saturday that the invasion of the CSS, owned by the Biogbolo and Yenezue-Epie communities, threw the residents into chaos as the four-member cult gang scaled the fence and threatened to kill some of the pupils.

The Convener of a non-governmental organisation, Patriotism Advancement and Community Orientation Network, Mr. Aluzu Augustine, who was at the school during the invasion, said the teenagers were aged between 17 and 19.

Augustine said, “At about 12pm, I was in the school to submit our letter of intent on the planned anti-cultism campaign when four teenage boys jumped the fence into the school.

“They went straight for a boy , shouted at him and threatened to kill him. Everyone fled. A few minutes later, some detachment of the state-owned security outfit, Operation Doo Akpo, arrived in the school and the boys escaped through the same route they came in. It was terrible development.”

Meanwhile, the Bayelsa State Government has confirmed a cult attack on a Senior Secondary School pupil at the Central Epie Secondary School, in the Opolo-Epie area of Yenagoa metropolis.

It noted that those involved in the attack had been identified and expelled.

In a statement by the Commissioner for Education, Mr. Jonathan Obuebite, the government said the pupils were expelled with immediate effect for engaging in cult-related activities within the school premises.

“The names of the expelled students are Ogugu Yiniewemi, Okudo Clever, Perewari Agih, Richman Paibi, Yagila Clement, Umukoro ThankGod and Okpara Peter,” it said.

It added that the announcement prohibited any government schools from admitting the expelled pupils without proper clearance from the state ministry of education.

Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]


Culled from here


About Author

Comments are closed.