New NLC Leadership Emerges in Abia State


A factional leadership of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) has emerged in Abia State with Comrade Christopher Ezeikel emerging as the new State Chairman.

Addressing delegates before the commencement of the election, the Returning Officer, Mrs Doris Nwaji disclosed that as a result of the crisis that has rocked the national leadership of the NLC, that the delegates congress being held was that which is under the leadership of Comrade Joe Ajero led NLC National Chairman.

In a motion calling for the dissolution of the former state NLC leadership under Comrade Sylvanus Eyeh was moved by Comrade Matins Uzoegbu of the National Union of Electricity Employees and seconded by Comrade Cubet Nwangaga.

At the end of the exercise, all the newly elected state officers of NLC were returned unopposed following their adoption by the delegates from affiliate unions to NLC in the state and were subsequently sworn in by the former State TUC Chairman, Comrade Ndukwe.

The new NLC state executive committee members include, Comrade Christopher Eziekel, State Chairman, (MHWUN) , Godwin Ugwu, 1st Vice Chairman,(NUPPEN), Comrade E. I Nweke, 2nd Vice Chairman (NUEE); Comrade Nkechi Agwuncha, Treasurer, (NUEE) Comrade Prince Onukwue, Auditor, (NUPPRO), Comrade Odoh Joseph C., Auditor 11, (NUR) Comrade Bestman Ezigbo, (NWA), Comrade Onunka Nnamdi (ASSURI), (Ex-officio members).

Speaking after the election, the Returning Officer, Mrs. Doris Nwaji, who also is the Women Leader of NLC under Comrade Joe Ajero led leadership described the election as peaceful.

Culled from here


About Author

Comments are closed.